Region 5 - Montgomery County

Contact Information:

Office of Child Care Region 5 (Montgomery County)
Maryland State Department of Education
51 Monroe St., Suite 200
Rockville, MD 20850

Map This Location


Main office phone 240-314-1400
Office e-mail occ5mont.msde@maryland.gov
Office fax 240-314-1444

"Anyone who is interested in starting a child care business in a home or center is required to complete an on-line Orientation on a computer.  This is the very first step to getting a child care center license or a large family or family child care registration.  (Click here to go to the Orientation page)"

 To obtain required “local permits” for a child care center license or family child care registration - Click Here 

For Provider Training (Pre-Service and Continuing) - please click here to find MSDE-approved training courses, trainers and training organizations.


NAME TITLE TELEPHONE
Eggleston, Carl
carl.eggleston@maryland.gov
Regional Manager 240-314-1400
Jones, LaTonya
latonya.jones1@maryland.gov
Office Secretary 240-314-1425
Mukherjee, Mary
mary.mukherjee@maryland.gov
Licensing Supervisor 240-314-1427
Speak, Janet
janet.speak@maryland.gov
Licensing Supervisor 240-314-1402
Bailey, Crystal
crystal.bailey@maryland.gov
Licensing Specialist 240-314-1414
Brown, Debra
debra.brown1@maryland.gov
Licensing Specialist 240-314-1416
Browne, Ava
ava.browne@maryland.gov
Licensing Specialist 240-314-1406
Clay, Tracey
tracey.clay@maryland.gov
Licensing Specialist 240-314-1407
Crawford, Zulieka
zulieka.crawford@maryland.gov
Licensing Specialist 240-314-1415
Crystal, Lisa
lisa.crystal@maryland.gov
Licensing Specialist 240-314-1420
Garcia, Carla
carla.garcia@maryland.gov
Licensing Specialist 240-314-1411
Harrell, Patricia
patricia.harrell@maryland.gov
Licensing Specialist 240-314-1410
Holmes, Zakiyyah 
zakiyyah.holmes@maryland.gov
Licensing Specialist 240-314-1404
Justice, Katherine
katherine.justice@maryland.gov
Licensing Specialist 240-314-1423
Leffson, Patricia
patricia.leffson@maryland.gov
Licensing Specialist 240-314-1424
Mills, Donna
donna.mills@maryland.gov
Licensing Specialist 240-314-1405
Soto, Rousana
rousana.soto@maryland.gov
Licensing Specialist 240-314-1412
Williams, Tara
tara.williams1@maryland.gov
Licensing Specialist 240-314-1428

Region 5 - Upcoming Events and Other Information:

 

Center Director Training:

All Child Care Center Director Trainings are now held on-line at childcarecourses.thinkport.org.


 

To Apply for a Criminal Background Check

Effective April 15, 2012, the FBI moved to an all-electronic criminal background check (CBC) application process and is no longer accepting hard-copy fingerprint cards.  Because the Maryland Criminal Justice Information System (CJIS) follows FBI guidelines, the use of hard-copy CBC applications at the State level are also being phased out as of that date. Instead, all CBC applicants are being encouraged to submit their applications electronically. However, hard-copy applications are still being accepted by CJIS if electronic submission is not possible. Click here for a list of State-approved private electronic fingerprinting services and State-operated electronic fingerprinting locations. Electronic applications may also be submitted through many State and local police agencies. Child care programs that have their own State-certified electronic fingerprinting equipment and operators may continue to submit CBC applications.  When submitting your CBC request, you must include the appropriate OCC Regional Office authorization number.  Click here for additional information about the criminal background requirements and process.

Online Licensing Inspection Results

Visit the Office of Child Care's online child care licensing inspection results site – www.CheckCCMD.org! The site offers detailed compliance findings from child care licensing inspections conducted since January 2011. The site may also be used to find licensed child care programs and providers, and to link to a wide variety of information about early care and education in Maryland.

To File a Complaint

If you believe a particular child care program is in violation of State child care licensing laws or regulations, you may file an official complaint against that program.  To file a complaint, contact the Regional Licensing Office covering the county where the program is located. Complaints may be filed in person, or by telephone, or in writing by e-mail, fax, or letter.  Anonymous complaints are accepted, so complainants do not need to identify themselves. Each complaint is investigated by the Regional Licensing Office.  Upon completion of the investigation, a report of findings is created. This report is available upon request if the investigation confirms that the violation occurred, or if it cannot be determined whether or not the violation occurred.


Medication Administration Training for Child Care Providers

The Medication Administration Training (MAT) is a pre-service training required for individuals seeking to acquire a Child Care Center License or a Family Child Care Registration in Maryland.  MAT is provided by licensed Maryland Registered Nurses who have completed Medication Administration Trainer training and are apporved by the Nurse Consultant in the Office of Child Care's Licensing Branch.  MAT is a six (6) hour training conducted in a classroom setting with theory and practice.  A certificate is awarded upon completetion of the course in addition to passing content and skill tests.  

Need to find a MAT trainer in your area?  Click here

Registered Nurses interested in becoming a MAT Trainer? Click here

For more information about the MAT course or training, contact the Nurse Consultant at 410-767-1853


The Family Child Care Provider Grant Program

The Family Child Care Provider Grant Program (FCCPGP) exists to help registered family child care providers offset some of the costs of opening their child care programs. For information about the FCCPGP, click here.


Click here to access the Maryland Sex Offenders Registry (SOCEM), which is maintained by the Maryland Department of Public Safety and Correctional Services. In addition to providing detailed offender information, the site carries "amber alerts" for abducted children and an information/resource section for parents and educators on preventing and combating youth gangs.


Click here for the Maryland Judiciary Case Search service, which provides free public access to the Maryland District Court and Circuit Court Case Management System. District Court criminal, civil, and traffic case records and Circuit Court criminal and civil case records are available. The amount of historical data may vary by jurisdiction.